To start rostering head to the dashboard and find the roster you would like to edit. To edit the roster click 'Edit Roster'.
When edit roster is clicked you will enter the Roster Designer which is where you create your weekly rosters.
The Roster Designer:
Before you begin rostering make sure you check the date at the top of the screen. This indicates which week you are rostering for.
When you have selected the correct week, the next step is to add a row. Each row is a place holder for an employee and begins as an unassigned row. Shifts can be added to an unassigned row and a role can be assigned to each shift (useful for creating roster favourites).
The next step is to add an employee to the unassigned row. To add an employee, go to the employees list on the left-hand side of the screen click -hold -and - drag the employee to the row and release to assign the employee to that row.
Next click on an empty cell to build a shift for that employee. Select the role, assign any unpaid breaks (these are subtracted from the employee wage cost total) and select the start and end time for the shift using the slider.
Employee Notes (Optional): If you need to leave shift specific information for the employee you can enter a note for that employee that will appear on that shift in the mobile app when it is published. (e.g. "Please meet in the Carpark at 8:30am")
See the video below for further info on building shifts:
Once you have added the employee repeat the process until all employees you need to roster have been added.
When you have completed the roster, you can choose to publish it, so your employees receive their shift information for that week. When you publish the roster the roster status will change from 'Draft' status to 'Published' status.
When the employee receives their roster either via the mobile app, SMS or Email they then can be given the following options (depending on your account settings):
-
Confirm/ Query
-
Confirm/Query/Decline
-
Yes/Query
-
Yes/Query/No
What my employees see when a roster is published?
SMS Notification:
Email Notification:
Mobile App Notification:
When your employees respond to a roster notification the status of that shift will changed in the Dashboard and Roster Designer to one of three options (Declined, Confirmed or Queried).
NOTE: The status of a shift can be overridden by going to the employee in the roster and changing to the desired status.
Expert Rostering Tips:
Expert Tip 1: Copying a Weekly Roster:
Expert Tip 2: Copying Shifts:
Expert Tip 3: Creating Favourites:
If you have a consistent roster for most weeks you can save time by creating a favourite of any week and apply this favourite when needed.
Create Favourite:
Expert Tip 4: Using the Day View:
The Day view can be used as a way to easily see if you have all of the workday covered.
Expert Tip 5: Using Requirements:
'Requirements' allows you to set the roles that are needed on any given day so that you can check to make sure you have your roles covered.
For more info on setting requirements see this article.